hairy girls.

Hi,everyone! UK weather is actually being very forgiving recently and given us the sun so we can finally not look like uncooked eggs (well, I still do). However, that means it’s dresses, shorts or going to the inch of nearly being naked (as I have seen, not a lovely sight to see when they are over the age of 50) this time of the year. Now, this time of the year I’m having to get over the stigma about shaving my fur coat that I’ve been growing since October and actually shave because otherwise, I’ll feel a bit too sweaty for my liking. And I’m a very hairy girl.. and if you don’t like too much information about these things then I would skip this post of mine or if you have the same problems (or you’re 12 and you’re weirdly interested in growing body hair) then jump right in.

I’ve been growing dark leg hair since I was 8 which I was extremely embarrassed of it and I would get lots of nasty comments off my classmates about it but the moment I reached Year 6 I realised the power of razors and after school, I would use my dad’s razor to shave my legs which ended up with more cuts than hair coming off.

Then when I reached big scary secondary school, it was all about my monobrow which I didn’t have pluckers for and so, I use to pluck the hairs out with my fingers which not surprisingly, would do a rubbish job and was really painful for my fingers. However, my eyebrows are still really thick but they are separated into twos which I prefer.

I’m a pretty hairy girl but I know a lot of people who get it everywhere including their boobs which is completely natural and shouldn’t be made ashamed of which society has. Like,most girls get nipple hair and it’s perfectly normal but the media have turned us into hairless girls and if I asked now boys in my class if girls get hairs on their nipples, I bet most of them would say no.

Whenever I look back, I can’t believe how I thought my body hair was the worst thing that I will ever go through and that people won’t like me if I didn’t get rid of it which is really pathetic as I know loads of people who grow out their body hair and it doesn’t make a difference to them as a person.

I wish I could tell my 12 year old self this because her body image at that point was really putting her self confidence down.

Do you think it would be a interesting idea for me not to go near shaving stuff for a few weeks to experiment what it’s like and blog about it? Let me know in the comments below 🙂

Astrid xxx

aka. Hideaway Girl xxx

 

32 thoughts on “hairy girls.

  1. brooke@foodandfunstuff❤️ June 25, 2017 / 5:32 pm

    I loved this! I’m 13 and wish that the media would stop pushing the image of smooth legs and skin! But,I live in Los Angeles and it gets really hot so,I shave,because I love wearing shorts and dresses. xoxo-Brooke =)

    Liked by 4 people

    • hideawaygirl June 26, 2017 / 6:01 pm

      I think the media should really start looking at how they portray beauty but it’s getting better though

      Liked by 1 person

      • brooke@foodandfunstuff❤️ June 26, 2017 / 6:09 pm

        True!☺️💕

        Liked by 1 person

  2. allthestarsaliign June 25, 2017 / 6:35 pm

    I feel this post relates so much to feminism. Society has said boys should have body hair and if they don’t have it they’re not ‘manly’ or whatever, whereas girls should definitely not have body hair and if they have it, it’s weird or gross. And yeah you should try not shaving for a week and see what happens. Loved this post! 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    • hideawaygirl June 26, 2017 / 6:00 pm

      Thank you and I think I will, maybe for Movember haha

      Like

  3. Alexandra June 25, 2017 / 8:21 pm

    Loved this post, it’s a very interesting post, it’s so true that’s it’s so unfair how women are portrayed by men, they see things in films and then that that’s what they expect of us
    Love Alex x

    Liked by 3 people

    • hideawaygirl June 26, 2017 / 5:59 pm

      Yes completely, a lot of the time though men care less about hair on women than women do as we have been taught to be hairless.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. theiridescentworldofindy June 25, 2017 / 8:39 pm

    I loved this post and I thought I was the only one that got nipple hair. I also notice that I have a bit of a “snail trail” too and I never know what to do because I don’t want to shave it and for the hair to then come back spikier. Living in Australia, I shave my legs all year round, and usually do it once every two days, because no joke, I wear my school sport shorts all year round. Even though we have long pants, I always feel like its such an effort to go and buy some after school, so for the last three winters I have just worn shorts. But its not too bad, because even in winter, we can get some pretty warm days.

    Liked by 3 people

    • hideawaygirl June 26, 2017 / 5:58 pm

      I would love to visit Austrialia, although doesn’t the hot weather get annoying sometimes? Also, yup snail trails are completely normal and I have no too, my advice is not to shave it because it grows back thicker haha

      Liked by 1 person

      • theiridescentworldofindy June 26, 2017 / 8:13 pm

        The hot weather kind of feels normal? I think you get used to it like you would with the cold weather in England. Its only in the middle of summer when I feel like melting into a puddle 😂😂. And I definitly dont want a thick snail trail. Thanks for the advice!

        Liked by 1 person

      • hideawaygirl June 27, 2017 / 7:04 pm

        No problem! I struggle with 30 degrees hot so I think I would do rubbish with the heat in Australia but they have lovely beaches there so I think I could get used to it easily 🙂 x

        Liked by 1 person

      • theiridescentworldofindy June 27, 2017 / 8:17 pm

        Yes! I love the beaches here! I live about five minutes away from one of the nicest beaches in my city! But I’d also really love to go and see the pebble beaches they have in England! Do people swim there? And is it pebble all the way into the ocean?

        Like

  5. Miss Dino June 25, 2017 / 9:20 pm

    Great idea! You should definitely write about that, I’d be interested in seeing that.
    People nowadays just need to realize that hair is just hair and it does not matter if you don’t shave it, and you should never be judged because you don’t.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Miss Dino June 26, 2017 / 7:23 pm

        Oh, wow. I actually never knew that so that is a surprise for me.. 😳

        Liked by 1 person

  6. The Average Gurl June 25, 2017 / 10:26 pm

    I can so relate to this post! One thing society doesn’t get is that hair on women shows womanhood. People make such a big deal even if it’s a little bit of hair that is showing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • hideawaygirl June 26, 2017 / 5:56 pm

      Yes completely, I felt so grown up when I first starting growing arm pit hair but at the same time, gross which I shouldn’t have done at all! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. mintyfreshie June 26, 2017 / 10:25 am

    I would definitely support this experiment! As an Asian girl, I’ve always been hairy and it’s been really hard because as I got older I realised that I wasn’t shaving because I wanted to get rid of my hair, but only because I was afraid of what people would say. Why we still have this idea that women need to be hairless the whole time is beyond me xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • hideawaygirl June 26, 2017 / 5:55 pm

      Yes hair is completely natural and animals all have hair so why can’t woman? xx

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Lu Reads June 26, 2017 / 3:40 pm

    I love this post!
    I literally haven’t properly shaved my legs 100% in forever (tmi??? perhaps??? pahah oh well), and tbh, I really cannot be bothered shave either! I think that hair is a totally natural thing and I can easily go a few weeks with leg hair and to doesn’t bother me at all.
    I have a friend that doesn’t shave her leg hair at all and she could not be prouder of her hair covered legs and it rockssssssss!! 😀

    Totally try it out, as you said, hair doesn’t matter and natural!

    Lu

    Liked by 1 person

    • hideawaygirl June 26, 2017 / 5:54 pm

      Yeah, I have to admit I get embarrassed a little about having leg hair still (I totally don’t care about other people’s body hair) but I think I should definitely do the challenge! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Katherine June 28, 2017 / 4:36 am

    Sometimes I get embarrassed or ashamed my leg hair. But I also get too lazy to shave and shave the parts that are visible to the sun.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. J | Beauty's Expert Amateur July 8, 2017 / 8:20 pm

    Haha please do it and let us know! I go through a phase of not shaving and letting my body foliage flourish every year… others call it winter. But yeah, I wouldn’t want to be a 12 year old sprouting hair, the self-consciousness was so real.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. lattesleavesandblogging August 26, 2017 / 9:04 pm

    this is my favourite post i’ve seen all day. me being rather hairy myself, i can empathise with the struggle of judgement from others. i’m still leading to embrace it though, and so should other hairy people xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

