yeah, I’m a feminist.

I’m a feminist. Oh dear god, how will you ever be able to read my blog posts again with knowing that I stand for equals rights for everyone? I have no idea.

I must be a man hater if I’m a feminist, right? No. The feminist idea doesn’t think that women are better than men. I don’t think that at all. Feminism is about equality for all genders but in my eyes, it’s about equality for everyone.

All gender inequality affects all genders including men and feminism is not just for women, it’s for men too. Yes, it became a noted thing in the UK during the suffragette movement when women didn’t have the right to have a say in political standards. However, today, men are also treated unequally to women.

Men are not given custody of children for being seen as less ‘motherly’ than women which in my eyes, is bullshit. Yes mothers do normally have a higher maternal feelings towards their kids than men. However, a man should have their rights over their kid and should be given custody if the mother is unstable or seen as unfit or a danger to the child.

We, as humans, are treated unequally from the day we were born and it grows more obvious when you get older.

Whenever I watched Disney as a child, it was always the knight in shiny armour who saved the princess and it gave the message that we, as women, are weak and always need help from the other sex. Well that again is crap and we can save the other sex too.

Yes, I do cry ‘like a girl’ and no, that isn’t an insult. It isn’t a weakness and is nothing to be ashamed of.

When I got my period, I was 11 years old. I was ashamed by boys as it was seen as disgusting and whenever, I was on my period, I would refuse to go to school due to the dread of leaking. I was embarrassed about my early boob development and the first time I was catcalled was when I was only 12 years old… 12. I was wearing shorts. Catcalling isn’t a compliment and my length of my shorts isn’t as invitation for it. Even now, I am too scared to wear tops and jeans which show my figure incase I get stared at by men as old as my dad.

When I was 13, I was told that it wasn’t attractive not to wear makeup so everyday, I would paint my face to please the beauty standards of my sex.

When I was 14, I had to use the lie that I had a boyfriend which would stop grown men and teenage boys from hitting on me. They’d appreciate the excuse of another man than my lack of interest or the right to say no.

I’m 15 and I don’t like walking home by myself at night. I’m scared by the figures and the warning of rape. I’m scared of the catcalls. I’m scared that nobody would listen to me when I would say no and to be asked the most common question ‘What were you wearing?’

There’s been so many times when I have said no or I’m not interested or I’m too young but I’ve been ignored and still made feel uncomfortable.

I don’t want my children to feel like it’s normal to feel unsafe in the dark and to be warned about the needs of the other sex.

Because funnily enough, my needs and my wants are higher than a society’s desire to shape me.

I’m not weak.

I’m not a sexualised object.

I’m not a cry baby.

I’m not girly.

I’m not a tomboy.

I’m not being difficult or trying hard to play.

 

I’m a young independent women,

with the right to say no,

with my own thoughts,

with my own needs

and wants.

 

 

 

 

 

 

43 thoughts on “yeah, I’m a feminist.

  1. Miss Dino March 4, 2017 / 8:32 pm

    YESS! Girls don’t need a man for men not look hit not them, that is actually stupid. I do not see why the man cannot go and simply leave the girl alone, they don’t need to hear the fact that we have a boyfriend for them not to hit on us, that is the worst reason alive for men not to hit on girls.
    Girls are independent as you said- and we don’t need anyone or anything in our lives to make us stronger. We have always been strong, and nothing should change that.
    Be a feminist, because women are just the same as men, and we shouldn’t be treated any different. It’s the 21st century, yet things like this are still going on in the world, and that makes me so mad.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Queen JoJo March 4, 2017 / 8:34 pm

    I love this so much and I really connected with your last line❀️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Elm March 4, 2017 / 8:39 pm

    I’m speechless. Thank you for summarising my thoughts in a single post; you are amazing. You are strong, and powerful, and wonderful, AND A FEMINIST. So am I.

    Liked by 2 people

    • hideawaygirl March 4, 2017 / 10:17 pm

      it’s alright, I was just in such a frustrated mood with this article on the BBC about this polish politician who was talking about the ‘weakness of women’ πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 2 people

      • Elm March 6, 2017 / 10:10 pm

        IT MADE ME SO ANGRY! 😦

        Liked by 1 person

  4. theiridescentworldofindy March 4, 2017 / 9:22 pm

    I love the fact that you talk about the gender inequality of our society affecting men too. My parents always tell the story of how, when my older brother was in pre-school, he got mum to paint his nails, and all the kids at the pre-school wanted there nails painted, so my mum stayed and painted all the little kids nails. And one father refused to take his son home until the nail polish had been removed. That is an example of gender roles and how ingrained they are in society. I’m so proud of how my brother, at age 4, didn’t listen to them. That doesn’t mean that he’s gay. Or bisexual. He simply liked painted nails. Equality for all. Indy xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • hideawaygirl March 4, 2017 / 10:16 pm

      Awh that’s such an inspiring story about your brother and it’s good that your parents both supported that x

      Liked by 1 person

      • theiridescentworldofindy March 4, 2017 / 10:31 pm

        Hahah. Thank you xx

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Sophie Stephens March 4, 2017 / 9:27 pm

    This really touched me. It was like suddenly waking up. A couple of months ago I declared to my R.E class that I was a feminist. Some didn’t care. Most take the mick out of me. After that I just kind of let it go. This post has made me realise that I believe in feminism and I shouldn’t stop. The world is a lot scarier than cupcakes and rainbows and after reading this post I’m a little scared to grow up. But I’m determined to take that fear and be strong and confident. We are all equal. That is what I stand for. And I stand next to thousands of others.x thank you for helping me realise this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • hideawaygirl March 4, 2017 / 10:14 pm

      Thank you for reading! I’m called the local feminist at school which is so annoying because I’m not just a feminist but Astrid πŸ˜‚ however most have in it in friendly intentions although I’m fed up with people looking at feminism in a bad light, thank you for commenting

      Like

  6. adventuringirl March 4, 2017 / 9:33 pm

    Thank you so much for this post. ❀ I totally get what you're saying. Rape terrifies me and I hate that I should even have to worry about it. I hate that I should have to worry about the length of my shorts or the way my shirt fits or whether or not it's okay for me to not shave for a few days. Go girl power πŸ˜‰ Loved this post xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • hideawaygirl March 4, 2017 / 10:11 pm

      Thank you and my legs haven’t been shaved in like 3 weeks and I’m loving it to be honest xx

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Love, Soph March 4, 2017 / 10:25 pm

    YES GIRL YES!! Literally, you put it in words. This is what we’re all thinking. I too see myself as a femenist, and I don’t see it as an obnoxious, self centred thing to do. I see it as the right thing to do. Great post xx

    Liked by 1 person

  8. kalliepygus March 4, 2017 / 10:29 pm

    Great post! It’s a shame that so many people have a negative opinion about feminism. You do a wonderful job at clarifying that feminism is about equality for all. Plus your explanation of your experiences as a female from early on to now, helps show what women go through everyday.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. papergirl08 March 5, 2017 / 10:24 am

    Wow!!! This. Is. Amazing. I loved this post and you are a big inspiration. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  10. IndigoSky March 5, 2017 / 4:33 pm

    Great post! Totally agree with everything you say, everyone should be treated equally and the idea that other people might not agree with that makes me really mad.
    And you shouldn’t have to be afraid of going around in the dark. Just think that the chances of anything happening to you are actually very slim (so long as you’re sensible; going into a dark alley in the middle of the night by yourself is usually always a bad idea, no matter who you are).
    If you really are scared, my advice is to learn some basic self defense. Even if nothing ever happens, the knowledge that you know how to defend yourself if you have to makes you feel much more safe and confident.
    Hope this helps you (or anyone)?
    IndigoSky x

    Liked by 1 person

    • hideawaygirl March 6, 2017 / 8:05 pm

      I think self defence would be a great idea but due to my experience before, I don’t really blame myself for being scared to go out in the dark and statistics have shown that 1 in 3 women have been sexaully assaulted in their lifetime so it can be likely, thank you for the comment though πŸ™‚ x

      Like

    • hideawaygirl March 6, 2017 / 8:02 pm

      Thank you and I think that’s the first time someone has called me sane, haha πŸ™‚ x

      Liked by 1 person

    • Shalom August 11, 2017 / 9:14 am

      Exactly!. You voiced our thoughts!! Keep the good work going.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. carletta21 March 5, 2017 / 7:52 pm

    Absolutely loved this, couldn’t agree anymore tbhhh. I’m so glad someone’s finally said it x

    Liked by 1 person

  12. newlybloggergirl March 15, 2017 / 10:37 am

    Love this! It inspired me so much and I feel like it is such an important thing to spread positivity when it comes to feminism. Thank You!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • hideawaygirl March 19, 2017 / 5:35 pm

      no problem and be sure to spread positivity! πŸ™‚

      Like

  13. Jade March 24, 2017 / 1:25 am

    Wow ! I have wanted to do a feminism blog for a while but haven’t plucked up the courage but I think I will now ! Thank you x

    Liked by 1 person

  14. aspenandavery April 19, 2017 / 8:14 pm

    Wow! This is great! I really want to write a post like this for our blog! Thanks for writing it.
    Avery x

    Liked by 1 person

  15. AB & ST June 15, 2017 / 4:50 pm

    This is amazing!! I completely understand what you are talking about and i hope that some day we will bring some change in this society that they could understand the simple meaning of’ no’

    Liked by 1 person

  16. O Womania Team June 27, 2017 / 11:14 am

    Superb. Feminism is Equality and standing for your rights and opportunities to create a better world it has got nothing to do with women being superior to men or vice versa. it simply means equality. Lovely post. We also have similar posts on our handle. do check it out. hope u can relate to it and hope u love it. πŸ™‚ cheers ❀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

