We Were Liars- Book Review.

Hi,everyone! I’ve decided to do a book review because I haven’t done one in a while but I actually really enjoy writing them. So I’ve wanted to read this book for ages and I finally got the chance to have a read, when my friend offered it to me to borrow, I grabbed the opportunity and read it.

we were liars

*this book review has NO spoilers as I know the annoyance of the ending of a book/film/tv series is ruined*

One thing I hate about book reviews is the long winded paragraphs but I love making lists so I thought I would do pros and cons of the book!

Pros of We Were LiarsΒ 

  • It had a map of the island and the family tree which helped me figure out who was who and what house belonged to who.
  • They were very good powerful metaphors which I loved.
  • She also linked her life with some of her stories she writes.
  • The characters were all important and felt like they all had a role.
  • A very good but surprising ending.

Cons of We Were Liars.Β 

  • I sometimes got very confused of whose house belonged to who.
  • I don’t know why they were called liars, it doesn’t have any back story to it.
  • It’s a very complicated book to read. Not in the language way but the way it is written and set out.
  • I really didn’t like Gat and Candence’s relationship
  • The ending seemed very rushed.
  • Some things weren’t solved.

I don’t really know how I felt about the book. It’s a love-hate relationship. I loved the ending and the surprise of it but I think the plot should have been more easier to understand.

But I would highly recommend this book to people who love a mystery but if you love a book with a good romance, then this book isn’t for you, hahaha. If you want to have a look at what books I have read, follow me on Goodreads.

See you later,

Hideaway Girl xxx

17 thoughts on “We Were Liars- Book Review.

  1. Chloe Lauren April 28, 2016 / 5:33 pm

    I love your reviewing style πŸ™‚ I’m sorry my reviews are in paragraphs haha! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • hideawaygirl April 28, 2016 / 5:48 pm

      Nah, I like your book reviews! I just don’t like ones which are 1000 word ones πŸ˜‚

      Like

  2. parisianpages April 28, 2016 / 5:38 pm

    This was a very unique way of doing a book review and I appreciate that πŸ‘ŒπŸΏ

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Teenella April 28, 2016 / 6:02 pm

    I’m planning on reading this book soon actually, so your review really helped…and I love the way you listed your points!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Liv April 28, 2016 / 6:22 pm

    I REALLY loved that book. I found the elusive writing interesting…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Chocolatedrops April 28, 2016 / 6:56 pm

    This was the best review I have seen! I think long boring paragraphs are really horrible to read when it comes to a book review! Great post! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. sindyblue10 April 29, 2016 / 11:14 am

    (sent you a request on Goodreads ^^)
    I read this book last year, it was better than I expected. The writing style was very different so it took me a while to get into it, but overall it was very good!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Girl Enters June 22, 2017 / 10:19 pm

    The ending really messed up with my mind, at the end I was like: “I’m not even sure if I remember how the book started and how we got here”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

